top of page
  • Ảnh của tác giảOneChamp tee

I Wish All My Problems Were Little As My Boobs Shirt

I Wish All My Problems Were Little As My Boobs Shirt, hoodie, tank top, longsleeve and v-neck tee

Picture this: a midriff-baring ribbed tank top paired with camouflage cargo pants, and a Fendi baguette bag nonchalantly slung over the I Wish All My Problems Were Little As My Boobs Shirt but in fact I love this shoulder; frayed denim shorts belted by a chunky round buckle, paired with strappy kitten heels and a Von Dutch trucker hat; a pink velour tracksuit with a Gothic font spelling NASTY in rhinestones across the rear, topped off with a pair of Matrix-style sunglasses. What might sound like fashion relics from a bygone era are all looks you will find worn on Instagram over the past year by the biggest models of the moment— and, as of this season, it’s a style that is still going strong on the runways. Yes, you read that right: the early 2000s are ruling the catwalk with a vengeance. Whether it’s Miu Miu’s ballet flats, Blumarine’s dresses over bell-bottoms, or even an appearance from the grande dame of high-low Y2K fashion herself, Paris Hilton, in the Versace spring 2023 show, the kitsch glamour and head-spinning eclecticism of this divisive decade in fashion have become all but inescapable. So, too, have some of the decade’s most notorious brands, from the recent revival of Baby Phat to the rebirth of Juicy Couture to the resurgence of the Ugg through modish collaborations with the likes of Feng Chen Wang and Madhappy. Meanwhile, this year marked the 20-year anniversaries of some of the most influential pop-culture phenomena of Y2K style, from The O.C. to One Tree Hill to That’s So Raven.

So where did it all begin? Like most fashion trends right now, it started bubbling under—with a little help from Gen-Z influencers—on TikTok, where you’ll find e-girls with retro hairstyles, beaded chokers, and butterfly clips happily dancing to “Mr Brightside” and lamenting that they were “born in the I Wish All My Problems Were Little As My Boobs Shirt but in fact I love this wrong decade.” It’s also been a popular tag on every teenager’s favorite resale app, Depop, where it doesn’t take much trawling to find Miss Sixty jeans (a brand now fronted by Bella Hadid), a Blink-182 T-shirt, or a pair of Skechers fetching hundreds of pounds. If this doesn’t make you feel old already, the fact that many of them are labelled as “vintage” might.Supermodel Bella Hadid in the Miss Sixty fall 2022 campaign.As for Y2K’s absorption into the I Wish All My Problems Were Little As My Boobs Shirt but in fact I love this upper echelons of fashion, it’s perhaps little surprise that Marc Jacobs—one of the industry’s most reliable bellwethers—was among the first to embrace it. With his Heaven diffusion, launched in 2020 in collaboration with multi-hyphenate creative Ava Nirui as a more accessible counterpart to his mainline collections, Jacobs returned to a number of formative influences spanning the late ’90s and ’00s, such as the films of Gregg Araki and the Japanese street style of Shoichi Aoki’s Fruits magazine. This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.“It’s very personal to me, because the first designer items that I owned were from Marc by Marc Jacobs. That was like the pinnacle of luxury for me at that time,” says Nirui from Los Angeles, where the pair have just launched their first pop-up store, stocked with not only pieces from the line but also vintage books, magazines, and ephemera, many of which are direct products of the early aughts subculture scenes that informed the Heaven aesthetic. “This is the first trend that I’ve actually lived through and that I was a teenager for, so I feel super-connected to all of these vintage brands that are being recirculated,” she continues.

I Wish All My Problems Were Little As My Boobs Shirt

This nostalgic appeal also holds true for Nicola Brognano, the I Wish All My Problems Were Little As My Boobs Shirt but in fact I love this 30-year-old designer who took the reins at the relatively stagnant house of Blumarine at the end of 2019, with ambitions to return the brand to the heights of its ’90s and ’00s heyday. For his spring 2023 collection, Brognano doubled down on the femme grunge aesthetic in all its outlandish glory, with a shimmering abundance of flared low-rise jeans and sheer minidresses, reminiscent of the ocean’s siren-like allure. “I feel very close to that period because I grew up in those years, but I wanted to relive it with a modern sensibility,” Brognano says. “I wanted to show a collection that touches on happiness, sexiness, freedom. Something that breaks the rules, without being vulgar.” While the timing of the current noughties revival neatly fits the theory of trends operating on 20-year cycles, for Brognano it runs deeper than that: “It was the right moment to talk about it because people need happiness and carefree moments in their lives more than ever right now.”Brognano is onto something. Revivalism isn’t necessarily about creating a perfect facsimile of a look from a specific moment in time, but about pulling together a pastiche that reflects our needs and wants in the present day. How we understand the style of a decade really comes into focus only with hindsight, and the disparate elements of 2000s fashion that designers are pulling from to form a cohesive picture are largely those of pre-recession decadence and unbridled party-ready glamour. As Brognano puts it, “At a time like this, we’re all seeking joy where we can find it.”

4 lượt xem0 bình luận

Bài đăng gần đây

Xem tất cả

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page